Posted by: Captain Easychord | October 30, 2010

Once More, With Feeling

Oh boy, how time flies.  I’ll bet that all of you folks out there keeping tabs on Corsairs Affairs have been wondering about what’s going on here… did I forget about the blog?  Has it been abandoned (again)?  Will there be any more moments of brilliance around these parts?  (Actually, you weren’t wondering that at all… in fact, I’m not even sure there are any of “you”out there in the first place… does anyone even notice these posts anymore?)

In any case, Corsairs Affairs has very much been on my mind for a couple months now… because I’ve been wondering whether to put up notice that the blog is permanently shuttered.  I mean, let’s face it:  I’m not a good blogger.  I disappear for months at a time, only to return, post something like this… maybe a couple music recommendations and another assorted thought or two… and then disappear again for a season or two.  Not so good.

That said, I did start this blog for a reason. I make a lot of choices that puzzle and confound the people around me.  No matter what the topic, it rarely comes as a surprise when I stake out a disfavored position or have unpopular tastes.  Experience has demonstrated to me time and again that I’m not coming from the same place as a large number of my friends and associates.  Some people have explained away my penchant for difference by describing me as a “contrarian.”  Although my first instinct is to take offense to the way that the label is used to casually dismiss my perspective without engaging any of the actual substance therein, this notion has always amused me because it suggests that I don’t adopt an idea until I find out that it is disfavored by the folks around me, as if I somehow thrive on being different just for different’s sake.  In fact, nothing could be farther from the truth.  More often than not, I neither know nor care about what the de facto “normal” thing to do is.  If anything, I probably presume too often that other people will see the world the same way that I do and I’m baffled when they disagree.  Furthermore, I don’t particularly relish always being the outsider.  I really would like to be part of “the in crowd” and have an easier time relating to people, but I want to do it on my terms.  I would rather change the world to be more like me than change myself to resonate with the world.

To this end, a big reason why I wanted to start this blog was to write a handful of specific posts to explain some of the “unusual” choices I’ve made… posts that to this point simply have not been written.  Those posts are still relevant today, however, so before the curtain finally falls on Corsairs Affairs, I at least wanted to get some of those things done.  So for the time being, the blog is “operational” again.

Leave a Reply

Categories

