Posted by: Captain Easychord | May 2, 2010

Free Music Sunday: Jim James & Calexico – Goin’ To Acapulco

You would think that being unemployed for over three months would give me time to get stuff done, right?  I would have plenty of time to update the blog, make substantial progress on my Netflix queue and do whatever else I felt like doing.  In theory, this is all true.  Unfortunately, in practice, I have some terrible problems with procrastination and because unemployment means that you’re always free to do things “later”, unemployment is a procrastinator’s worst enemy.

Shortly after posting a Free Music Sunday featuring singer/actress Charlotte Gainsbourg, I realized that she had a feature role in the Bob Dylan biopic, “I’m Not There.”  The film got good reviews and featured some excellent music, so I moved it to the top of my Netflix queue and on January 27, it showed up in the mail.  Last night – just over three months after it arrived – I finally got around to watching the movie.  Frankly, the film was disappointing.  Dylan’s life was recapped in non-linear fashion via six different stories where Dylan was portrayed by six different actors (none of whom were “Bob Dylan”, all of whom had different names).  The film would skip back and forth between stories and each time I did, I had to reorient myself towards who was who and what was going on.  80 minutes in, I still had no idea of what the plot was or why I should care about the rest of the film… and I didn’t… and for me, it ended there.

In any case, this isn’t Movie Review Sunday, so I’ll get to the aforementioned excellent music from “I’m Not There.”  Specifically, the tag team of Jim James [m] [w] and Calexico [m] [w] that paired up to cover Bob Dylan’s “Goin’ To Acapulco.”  Now back in high school, I worked at a Revco drug store.  One of my co-workers there was a big Dylan fan and he got me into some of Dylan’s music.  “Goin’ To Acapulco” was one of those tunes, so when I first heard it, I immediately smiled and said something along the lines of, “yeah… that’s a good cover.”  A more casual Dylan fan who may not know the original can still appreciate it for what it is, however:  an excellent Bob Dylan composition paired with a fantastic performance from artists who are perhaps more skilled in that arena than the composer himself.

So don’t procrastinate!  Go check out “Goin’ To Acapulco” courtesy of I Hope Your Ears Bleed. (… now!)   No matter what the site proprietor desires, I can assure you that you’ll only be happy with the results.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Categories

