Posted by: Captain Easychord | January 8, 2010

Name Your Game: Carcassonne & Settlers of Catan @ Asobrain Games

There are a lot of reasons why I’ve been a terrible blogger.  I don’t know what I’m really trying to say, when I finally figure out what I do want to say, my perfectionist streak comes out in how I go about saying it, I don’t have time to actually post anything… Actually, the whole “don’t have time” thing has always seemed like a phony excuse to me.  It’s not so much that I “don’t have time” to put up a new post, it’s more like I’d rather spend that time doing something else instead of writing blog posts.  Of course, when it takes an hour to write a single paragraph, there’s a lot of other stuff that one can do with that time, but I digress…

The point here is that I’ve spent a lot of time choosing to do stuff that’s not putting up new posts.  One of my primary diversions has been gaming.  Typically, I’m up for just about any type of game.  Sometimes it’s console gaming, other times it’s board games or card games (although not fantasy sports games anymore).  But today, I’m going to talk about a couple free web-based adaptations of board games that have caught my fancy.

The Asobrain Games website is home to a few Java-based games, including Xplorers and Toulouse, identical in all-but-name to the popular and award-wining board games Settlers of Catan and Carcassonne, respectively.  Like many other German-style board games, both Settlers and Carcassonne emphasize strategy over luck while maintaining a fairly simple set of rules that can be learned quickly.  In fact, I actually learned how to play Settlers simply by jumping right in and playing over at the Asobrain website.  Both games also are excellent social games for 2-5 people due to player interaction, the fact that players cannot be eliminated and the relatively short time it takes to play through.

Online play at Asobrain Games allows players to play against other humans or against computer opponents, the latter of which are excellent for learning the basics of how to play.  Automating certain game functions cuts down on the time it takes to play.  A basic online game of Settlers can take under ten minutes while an average game of Carcassonne will take about 15.

Best of all, both games can be picked up in physical format so that you can bring your online experience to your kitchen table for fun game nights with a bunch of friends  (unless, of course, you’re feeling “progressive” enough to sit around the table with a bunch of laptops, which would actually be pretty cool too!).  So if you feel like finding some fun new reasons to not spend time blogging diversions, go register at Asobrain Games and start playing… maybe I’ll see you ’round!

Responses

  1. Or you could play Settlers on the official website, http://www.playcatan.com, where the base game is free and you can upgrade to a premium account for a small fee to play Cities and Knights and Seafarers scenarios.


Leave a Reply

Categories

