Posted by: Captain Easychord | January 5, 2010

Resolutions

Along with Auld Lang Syne and college football, New Year’s resolutions are in vogue each year on January 1.  Personally, I kind of think that they’re a crock.  I mean, it’s good to be aspirational and look to better your life and whatnot.  But I suppose what gets me about them is that people really only consider to ‘resolve’ to do something beneficial when the calendar turns the year.

There also seems to be a tacit admission that most New Year’s resolutions aren’t much more than hot air.  I mean, how often do you hear someone talk about a resolution to do something and actually expect that they’ll carry through with their pledge?  I’ve always seen them as ideals that we’d like to live up to, but because of our habits and routines, will almost always keep as aspirations and not, in fact, put into practice.

If you’re really looking to make a change in your lifestyle and there’s genuine motivation to do so, you’re probably also going to realize this and put it into effect immediately, whenever the notion happens to strike you.  In other words, why wait until a new year to create a resolution?

In the past, I’ve kind of made New Year’s resolutions.  A year or two ago, I resolved to procrastinate less… I’m still waiting to get started with that.  This year, I don’t really have resolutions as much as I have objectives.  The difference may be semantic to some degree, but to me a resolution is more vague while an objective is a concrete goal.  To the extent that I have a ‘resolution’, it’s just to spend more time doing things that I really like and less time doing things that I really don’t like.  Wow, doesn’t that sound like… duh?!?  OK, a few specific objectives for the year:

  • By the end of 2010, I’d like to have a “real” job… as in, permanent, full-time employment… doing something that is not document review.  This is a big part of the “less time doing things that I really don’t like” part of the resolution.  I’m so adamant about this particular objective that I’ve made a vow such that if I’m still doing contract attorney work on January 1, 2011, I’m quitting.  That’s it.  (there is one particular exception I’ll make to this, but that only kicks in if I get a “real” job at some point this year)
  • You’ll inevitably be hearing about this job search right here on Corsairs’ Affairs this year, because another objective is to give an honest-to-goodness chance to the whole blogging thing.  No more of this half-assing with one post a week… either this is going to be an ongoing concern or I’m dumping it (or joining a group blog, which would probably be ideal, but we’ll see…)
  • Since I’ve been here in DC, I’ve also seen plenty of interesting concerts coming through town, almost always without me in attendance.  This is a shame, because as you all know by now, I’m a bit of a music geek and going to shows is fun.  So this year, I’m going to try to go see 12 concerts.  Modest goal, really… one a month.  More on this very soon.

There are a few others too… like taking lunch to work more often (cooking is fun! … so is saving money!) and one or two more that I have less control over… but that’s a start.  Anyone else with resolutions?  Objectives?

Leave a Reply

Categories

