Posted by: Captain Easychord | December 13, 2009

Free Music Sunday: Andrew Bird – Fitz And The Dizzyspells

When I discover a an enjoyable tune or two by a previously unknown artist, I’ll often look deeper into the artist’s catalog to see if they have a sound that keeps my attention.  Sometimes, there’s just the one single that works for me, but on other occasions, a little exploration goes a long way and I’ll uncover a treasure trove of excellent music.

This year, one of those artists that was added to my playlist after some further investigation was Andrew Bird [m] [w].  Back in January, he released Noble Beast, Bird’s fourth solo studio album.    Filled with some exquisite violin, intelligent lyrics, singsong whistling and a variety of complementary instrumentation, Noble Beast was well worth all the listens that I gave it this year.  What’s more, this success wasn’t a fluke… digging deeper, I found that Bird’s sound was pretty consistent across his catalog.  When you’re doing something right, that’s good news.

There are a bunch of excellent tracks in Andrew Bird’s catalog to recommend, but I’m going to go with one of the standout tracks from Noble Beast.  “Fitz And The Dizzyspells” is a catchy uptempo number that’ll have you dancing and clapping  halfway through and whistling along to the tune well after the song has ended.  Go get “Fitz And The Dizzyspells” from KEXP and you’ll see what I mean.  Then check out more of Andrew Bird’s catalog find even more great tunes.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Categories

