Posted by: Captain Easychord | October 18, 2009

Free Music Sunday: Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds – Today’s Lesson

Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds [m] [w] have been around forever.  OK, not literally forever, but they’ve been making music for the substantial majority of my life.  Over a substantial part of this time, they’ve been in my consciousness as a band that’s out there… y’know, doin’ things… playing some rock music… and stuff.  But I couldn’t really elaborate much more because I didn’t really know the second thing about them.  I could have walked up to Nick Cave himself as he wore a Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds t-shirt, singing a Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds song under a Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds neon sign and I wouldn’t have had the foggiest idea who he was.

Last year, the band released their latest album, Dig, Lazarus, Dig!!! to widespread critical acclaim.  Between the multitude of consistently glowing reviews and the careful punctuation of the album title, I figured that it was high time I put these guys on my radar.  Sure enough, a few weeks ago I picked up a bunch of new music, including the aforementioned album. Having listened to a fair sampling of the new stuff, I’m ready to declare Dig, Lazarus, Dig!!! to be a pretty clear winner amongst the group.

After just a few listens, there are few songs on the album that don’t jump out at me… it’s just strong from start to finish.  “Today’s Lesson” is the pick for this week, mostly because it’s a rocking track with just a touch of gospel influence, but also because it seems accessible.  I mean, it sounds like it could be in a beer commercial or a football promo… we could all be chant-singing the chorus (“We’re gonna have a real good time tonight!”)… if only the song weren’t all about prostitution.  Ha!

Go get “Today’s Lesson” from Obscure Sound and enjoy!

Responses

  1. way back to 1983: http://wallernotweller.wordpress.com/2010/05/25/review-the-birthday-party-mutinythe-bad-seed-4ad/


Leave a Reply

Categories

