Posted by: Captain Easychord | September 1, 2009

What Happened To Summer?

Sometime in the middle of last night, I woke up feeling the strangest sensation:  I was cold… like, really cold.  I have a strong preference for open windows as opposed to air conditioning when it comes to summer cooling options… after all, it saves some cash on cooling costs and besides, I kinda like the heat.  Last night’s weather, however, just got out of hand.  The temperature “only” dropped down into the 50’s, but being acclimated to DC’s summer heat, I had to get up and fetch the comforter that I had put away for the summer.  Just before I dozed off again, the thermostat temperature dropped low enough for the heater to kick into action.  Yikes.

Just ten days ago, DC was suffering its annual week of oppressive summer heat: highs in the mid-to-upper 90’s, humidity that made the air feel like soup… summer in DC.  Now, I’m pulling out the warm clothes as the weather takes a quick turn for the cooler.

What’s more, this all coincides with the whole back-to-school rush.  Working down by GW last week, I couldn’t help but notice the kids coming back to the campus area.  As I skimmed over Gizmodo’s back-to-school gadget list, I couldn’t help but think that kids nowadays don’t know how lucky they have it, what with their fancy music players and their ubiquitous high-speed Internet.  Why in my day, we were still using walkmen and I had to make do with dial-up Internet access from my dorm room!  Harrumph!  In fact, it kinda makes me wish I could go back to school again… but then on the other hand, back in my day, when we graduated we actually had a chance to get a job!  So there!

Anyway, I’m not sure what happened to this summer.  It just kinda slipped by while I was working 55+ hour weeks (June), being lazy and lethargic (July) and recovering from surgery (August).  And now all the college kids are making me feel old… now get off my lawn!

Leave a Reply

Categories

