Posted by: Captain Easychord | August 23, 2009

Free Music Sunday: Gogol Bordello – American Wedding

Have you ever heard some good buzz about something that you dismissed or ignored at the time, only to later find out that it is, in fact, pretty cool?  See, because that’s my relationship with Gogol Bordello.  Despite hearing good things about these guys from multiple sources, I think I was cool to them because I heard an entirely forgettable cover that they did… or were alleged to have done.  I can’t imagine that anything I had heard before was actually Gogol Bordello, however, because the band’s gypsy punk stylings aren’t easily forgotten or ignored.

I picked up the band’s most recent release, Super Taranta, earlier this summer when I thought to revisit them to find out if I was missing anything.  Sure enough, I was, and thanks to standout tracks like “American Wedding”, the album has been in heavy rotation for me all summer.  It just goes to show that sometimes you’ll find great “new” music by reaching back into the past to find out what you’ve missed.

Go get “American Wedding” from The Ear Hole and enjoy!

Also, if you’ve been missing anything, like previous iterations of Free Music Sunday, you can always check out the archives and find that special track or band that you may have previously overlooked.

Leave a Reply

Categories

