Posted by: Captain Easychord | August 12, 2009

Joining the CSA

This year, I joined a community supported agriculture (CSA) program for the first time.  CSA, for those who don’t know, is basically like buying into a share of a farm for a year.  Early in the spring, you send the farm a check and then throughout the summer and fall, the farm delivers a bunch of fresh produce every week.

The particular CSA that I joined delivers a share largely consisting of vegetables every Tuesday, starting in early June and running through October.  Typically, we only have a vague idea of what we’ll be getting from week to week, meaning there’s usually a little surprise in store when we get our bags of veggies.

It’s not unusual that I’ll get something in my share that I’ve never used or prepared before.  Lamb’s quarters, fava beans and garlic scapes are a few of the items with which I’ve experimented for the first time.  Suffice to say, the CSA membership has led to some new cooking adventures (which have been largely positive).

A new favorite recipe that I’ve discovered thanks in large part to my CSA membership is similar to this one for sauteed red swiss chard with garlic.   While I had enjoyed chard occasionally when I was growing up, I had never actually cooked it before it started showing up in my weekly share.  Nevertheless, the recipe is really quite simple:  cut out the thick chard stems, chop the leaves, sautee with garlic.  I also kicked it up a notch by adding some asian seasonings, but that’s not at all necessary for a fine, delicious, quick and easy side dish.

I’ve meant to write more about my adventures with the CSA, but as regular readers have no doubt noticed, I’m lazy about posting… anything.  So I delegated!  Starting next week, Corsairs Affairs will feature a guest foodie who is also a member of my CSA.  She’ll keep you all updated on what we’re getting, what we’re cooking and other foodie goings-on here in DC.  So stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

Categories

